Friday Roundup

December 7, 2012

Post titles are so hard to think of. Does anyone else have that problem?

Anyway, I feel so much better today. Actually, I was feeling so much better yesterday that I made it to the gym for workout 2 of phase one of NROLFW.

Deadlifts and lunges and lat pulldowns — oh my!

It’s amazing how effective basic lifting exercises can be. It’s only been a week, but I already feel better than when I was just running and lifting half-assed.

Don’t get me wrong — getting to the gym on lifting days is still a struggle. But having a plan to follow really does make it easier. A plan means there is a set end to the workout. I like that.

When I’m just lifting all willy-nilly, I always feel like I could be doing more. A plan lets me know I’m doing what I need to do, and that when I’m done, well, I’m done.

In other news, we finally saw Argo last night. It was good! I knew the general gist of the movie going in, but my only comment (not really a complaint) was that everything happened a lot faster than I thought it was going too.

The theater we went to has a bar in the lobby, which is kind of amazing except for the fact that the beer I had means I had to get up to pee twice during the movie. I’m getting so old.

I’ve got a long run planned for today. Normally, I would do a short 30 minute run today and long run tomorrow, but we’ve got a busy weekend (hooray Christmas tree!) so I want to get my long run in today so I don’t have to worry about it.

Phew! Sorry for the long, picture-less post. I’ll get some photos up in my next post.

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

