Shoddy Workout

November 27, 2012

I. Effing. Hate. Lifting.

Hate it. With a capital HATE.

My half marathon program means my current running days are Mondays/Wednesday/Fridays/Saturdays, meaning Tuesdays and Thursdays are my “strength training” days.

I did my 3 miles yesterday (more on that in a sec) and felt fine. Not as awesome as I did on Saturday, but as good as I could feel for a Monday.

But I knew today was going to be a struggle. Tuesday’s in general are hard for me because I have a standing 10am meeting with my managing editor, meaning my usual 10am workout doesn’t happen. And we all know how much I love keeping to a schedule, so normally, the gym doesn’t happen.

But, you guys, I need to get back on track, which means I’ll do best if I follow a program, and my program calls for lifting on Tuesdays.

Fine.

My meeting ran short today, so I was back at my desk around 10:30. This gave me only about 45 minutes total (that includes changing) to get my booty to the gym. I originally half-heartedly told myself that I’d go after work, but, yeah, no. There’s no way in hell that’s happening today.

So I pouted (legit pouted), put my away status up on my work IM, and made my way down to the gym.

It wasn’t pretty. At all.

My shoulder hurts. I haven’t lifted in a few weeks. And my lack of enthusiasm wasn’t helping me any.

But, I made the most of my 30 minutes I actually had on the gym floor and did a circuit. A really weak circuit, but a circuit.

Warm up/Stretching (I’m too lazy to list everything I did, but it included ankle/knee rolls, and some back and side lunges)

2 rounds of:

Barbell squats: 8 reps with 40 lb bar

Medicine ball slams: 15 reps with 12 lb ball

2 rounds of:

Overhead press: 8 reps with 15lbs DB

Push Ups

2 rounds of:

Stability ball sit ups: 15

Standing side crunches: 10 each side w/ 12 kg KB

Loads of stretching/foam rolling.

I felt awful, and even worse, I’m going to be sore tomorrow which means I’m not lifting enough which means I need to be doing a lot more of it.

Which means I’ll be grumpy Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Harumph.

Tomorrow, I run 5 miles.

I realized that my plan is a 16 week plan, but the half marathon we want to do is less than 16 weeks away, so I need to start a few weeks into my program. It’s not a huge deal– I’ve been running enough that I should be able to handle it.

Until then, I’m going to go dread Thursday.

Arg. Lifting. Seriously. I hate you.

Does anybody have any helpful advice to get over this horrible lifting slump I’m in? Short of hiring a personal trainer (which I can’t afford), I don’t see myself finding any sort of motivation to do it.  Help!

3 Responses to “Shoddy Workout”

  1. DAD Says:

    It’s a pretty weighty subject. Have you tried spiritual uplifting?

  2. lindsayhutton Says:

    Not yet. I’ll try that on Thursday.


  3. […] Shoddy Lifting Tuesday when I did 2 sets of 8 squats and thought I was going to become a double amputee because of […]


Leave a Reply

