Up and Running

October 31, 2012

Batten down the hatches! Hunker down! Button up!

We did all of those things on Monday and came through Hurricane Sandy just fine. About the only thing I really did to prepare was to bring my pumpkins inside.

Hey– I didn’t want them to become “objects capable of becoming airborne and destructive!” (Phrase courtesy of my local news). So, in they came, safe and sound.

But I can’t believe the devastation down in New York and New Jersey. It’s just so sad.

We only lost power for about 3 hours on Monday, but our home Internet is still down. And since my office was closed the past two days, well…that’s why you haven’t heard from me.

But I’m back! I don’t have a ton to report (or really any pictures), but I wanted to get a post up so you guys don’t forget about me.

🙂

I gotta say, I’m pretty happy to be back at work. I was starting to go a little stir-crazy.

The weekend was kind of a bust for working out, and by 7:30 last night I was so antsy I thought I was going to go nuts. We headed to the gym around 7:45 (that’s a late workout for me!) and I knocked out about 6 miles on the treadmill.

I felt so much better afterwards.

So now, it’s back to business as usual around here. It feels good to be back on a normal schedule.

Oh, wait, I found a picture! Look at these adorable candy corn cookies I made:

I found the recipe on this website. And I gotta say– as much as I wanted to love these cookies ( I reallyyyyy wanted to love them), I just didn’t. The sugar cookie recipe was off.

It wasn’t sweet enough and reminded me more of a shortbread. And while there is nothing wrong with a good shortbread cookie, there is a time and a place for them and these cookies definitely weren’t it. These cookies needed to be sweet, and they just didn’t do it for me. Even my boyfriend wasn’t over the moon about them, and that’s saying something.

So, I won’t make them again. Too much effort for a so-so cookie.

But they were cute!

On that note, Happy Halloween! I’m hoping for some trick-or-treaters tonight. Growing up on an orchard, we never got any when I was a kid, so I get abnormally excited about them now that I’m an adult.

Wait, that sounded creepy. I’m not creepy. Just excited.

Leave a Reply

