No Longer Sham-Less

October 18, 2012

When I woke up yesterday morning, I had told myself I was going to take the day off from the gym. My poor aching muscles needed a break.

But you know what makes poor aching muscles feel better? Moving and using them!

Don’t get me wrong– sometimes your body really does need a break. But what I needed was to get my blood pumping and my muscles warmed up.

All I could eke out was 10 miles (~30 minutes)  on the stationary bike and a boatload of stretching, but man-o-man do I feel better.

I haven’t ridden the stationary bike in I don’t even know how long. Typically, I do the “random hill climb” setting at level 13.

It wasn’t my prettiest (or most intense) workout of my life, but it was just what I needed.

Forcing myself to workout FTW 🙂

Alllsssooo….

Look-y here! My pillow shams came in!

You know you’re old when pillow shams make your heart flutter.

…………………..

Speaking of shams, my boyfriend is out of town for a few days for work.

Yeah, that didn’t make any sense at all. Bad segue. My apologies.

Anyway, with him away, it means I can X.

Don’t worry, it’s totally G-rated. (My parents read this blog, you guys! Sheesh.)

Definition of X’ing: Lay in the center of the bed, with your arms and legs spread out in the shape of an X. Use as much of the bed as possible. In my case, I can reach both sides if I really stretch out.

Stay in said position all night.

If X’ing doesn’t strike my fancy, sometimes I use the entire comforter to wrap myself up like a burrito, and use all the pillows by making  a little pillow fort around myself. It’s fluffy and womb-like.

Hey, a girl’s gotta take advantage!

Anyone else out there do this? Please say yes.

Because it’s totally normal, right? 😉

I’ve got dinner plans with a friend tonight, so I’ll be running my planned 5 miler on the treadmill at the gym.

Don’t worry. I left the Vibrams at home and will be rocking the Puma’s for this run. I don’t want to offend my fellow treadmillers with the stench. (Yes. It has returned.)

Happy Thursday!

6 Responses to “No Longer Sham-Less”

  1. Mom Says:

    Ohhh Lindsay I know how much not having matching shams bothered you! They do look great though

  2. Jenn Says:

    i refer to x’ing as starfishing ha

  3. DAD Says:

    You sure this whole thing isn’t a sham!


Leave a Reply

