The Hemnes

October 5, 2012

You wanna know how to make yourself feel like a boss?

Build any piece of Ikea furniture. More specifically, build any piece of Ikea furniture using only the tiny Allen wrench they so politely supply you with.

You’ll feel badass. Trust.

(Remember the time I built my Ikea couch? I felt like Superwoman.)

As some of you may know, my (30th!) birthday is right around the corner. So, I asked my boyfriend for the Ikea Hemnes dresser for my present.

Romantic, no?

My old dresser was starting to get really old. And it was a little scratched up after I literally dropped it in the middle of the street while moving back in August.

Oops.

So, off to Ikea we went last Sunday.

(Side note– I’ve been to Ikea many, many times, but it took a guy’s perspective for me to realize it’s like walking into the middle of the movie Idiocracy. Have you seen it? If not, go watch it, and pay close attention to the Costco in it. It is, literally, modern-day Ikea.)

We were originally in search of a dining table, but since they didn’t have the color I wanted, we grabbed my birthday present instead.

I took on the challenge of building it myself, mainly because I’m the world’s most impatient person and wanted it done rightthissecond.

Five hours over the span of two evenings later, voila:

Behold! The Hemnes.

And yes, that’s Kendall Kardashian on the TV. Don’t judge.

I’m pretty damn proud of myself. And I love it. Happy Lindsay.

Anyway, I’m contemplating doing a tour of the new apartment. We still have some things we need (like said dining table), but all in all, the apartment is pretty pulled together. The new bedding finally shipped (it’s been on backorder since August), so maybe I’ll wait.

Decisions.

Happy Friday!

6 Responses to “The Hemnes”

  1. DAD Says:

    You sure it’s not upside down?

  2. Bridget Says:

    Love it! Yeah, it takes so long to put there stuff together. Good job!

  3. Mom Says:

    Ohhh Lindsay, I always knew you were superwoman!!


Leave a Reply

