I Want a Dog

February 4, 2012

Hey, guess what?

I want a dog.

If you are my Facebook friend, real-life friend, family member, boyfriend, random reader, or just anybody who has had even the most minor interaction with me, you probably know that.

I like to think I’m not generally an annoying person (right? I’m not, am I? I am? What the hell! You guys are mean!).

OK, in my head I’m not an annoying person. But when it comes to wanting a dog, I admit. I may talk about it a leeeeeeee-tle too much.

And by that, I mean every day. Sometimes multiple times a day. The majority of my Facebook status’ are usually referring to Petfinder, and how OMG I want a dog! And damn it, I just bookmarked 17 dogs and how am I ever going to decide which one I wanttttt?!?!?!?!

This is actually kind of ridiculous because I know I can’t feasibly get a dog until September.

But noooo, that doesn’t stop me from falling in love with multiple dogs every week, staring longingly at their little square picture until they either get adopted, or I get depressed knowing I can’t have them yet so I delete their bookmarked page in a fit of guilt and self-pity over my dogless status.

No, really. I think sometimes my co-workers wonder why I get a little teary-eyed when I’m at my desk.

They probably think I’m just a really depressed and sensitive person who just cries for no reason.

Nope. Just when I have to delete my bookmarked dogs that I’ve developed an unhealthy attachment to.

Totally normal, right?

In fact, this whole cycle happened just this morning.

I stayed in last night, which means I feel asleep at the sheepish hour of, ohhhhhhh, 9:30.

Side note: I am an old lady.

Falling alseep at 9:30 on a Friday night means I woke up at 6:45, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed.

Again, am I, like, 85? God.

So, after my morning routine of drinking coffee and watching the news, I remembered the Petfinder app that my dear friend Bridget had downloaded for me on Thursday night.

I had sworn off Petfinder until September, but that damn app was just so tempting.

And, I mean, it’s not like I was breaking my ban.

I didn’t type http://www.petfinder.com into the web browser. I just may or may not have accidentally hit the little app image with my finger.

Oops. 🙂

Big mistake. Before the sun had even really come all the way up, I had saved 7– seven— dogs under my favorites.

Moe is going to love hearing about this.

But really– how can you say no to a little face like this?

Look at my adorable face! Look at it!

I mean, really. If those eyes and that face doesn’t just melt your heart, you aren’t human.

I’m coming for you Enzo!

3 Responses to “I Want a Dog”

  1. DAD Says:

    Can I interest in a horse or two? Oh by the way, PLEASE don’t show Mom this post. She will probably have Enzo before you!

  2. DAD Says:

    That’s what I’m afraid of. Almost looks like Merlot. Same expression.


Leave a Reply

