Checking In

September 14, 2011

Sorry I fell off the face of the Earth for a little bit there.

I was on a pretty solid blogging streak there for a while, but my life has been pretty boring recently so I figured I wouldn’t bore you guys with stupid posts about unicorns again.

Your welcome.

Anyway, I’m back. With a sassy new haircut and a new training endeavor I’m going to undertake that you all will have the privilege of following.

First, the hair cut.

There’s something about the fall that always makes me want to chop off all my hair. And I’ve found it tends to happen in 2 year cycles.

I decide I want a new hair style, get my hair cut really short, love it for a week, start to hate it after two weeks, and then don’t get my hair cut for a year in protest.

I then keep it long for another year, swearing I’ll never cut it short again.

Then the itch to cut it starts, and I decide I must cut off all my hair right now OMG I can’t wait one more second to have short hair.

So, I make an appointment, usually for that day because, you know, I’m really patient, and by dinner time, my hair is gone and I’m left feeling much better, but slightly ashamed.

Kind of like a one night stand. Heh.

Side note– the past two times I’ve decided to cut my hair short, the change in length was so drastic two different stylists have asked me if it was because I was going through a break up.

I guess they’ve seen too many girls cut all their hair off in the midst of personal anguish and heartbreak?

Alas, that wasn’t the case for me. Moe was aware of the choppage I was about to do.

Anyway, with my short hair also comes a renewed sense to get back in shape.

OK, I never really fell out of shape.

But I want to get back to where I was when I was training for my half marathon.

I haven’t been totally slacking, I just haven’t been pushing myself as hard as I can.

And this, my friends, has resulted in some unwanted pudge around my waist:

There is a lot going on in this picture.

Recap: Cute hair. Unwanted pudge. Random knives on the wall. Very tasty Post Road Pumpkin Ale. (Try it. Seriously.)

So, it’s time for another half marathon. I’ve found one I’m going to do, I have my training schedule ready to go, and I tested my running legs on the treadmill today to make sure they still worked.

I ran 3 miles straight today. With a rock solid time of 29:05. Not very good.

So, first goal: Get my 5k back to where I’m running under a minute mile.

Here we go!

**Update. I just noticed a small, yet significant typo.

As much as I’d like to say I can run a mile in under a minute, making me the world’s fastest runner ever, I’m not quite there yet. Under a 9 minute mile is a leeeeee-tle more achievable. So, mmmmm, I’m going to go with that.

2 Responses to “Checking In”

  1. Maura Says:

    You know you LOVE our magnetic knife strip on the wall. That, along with the bottle opener on the wall, are the best parts of Moraine St!

  2. lindsayhutton Says:

    It makes me happy that you guys are all safe from burglars due to the knives hanging on your wall. I would feel safe too. Maybe I should add on of those to Lorraine Terrace.


Leave a Reply

