The Jump to Vibram Five Finger’s

August 16, 2011

For the better part of my life after college, my goal has been to be an “effortless runner”.

You know, like one of those people who can just run. Someone who makes it look easy. And fun.

Sadly, I am not one of those people.

Sure, I’ve run a half marathon before (with a time of 2:15, which averages out to about a 10:30 pace. Not bad. But certainly not “effortless runner” status.)

And aside from that, I’ve got several 5 milers and 10ks under my belt.

My fastest pace in a race has been a 9:02 mile. It was a 10k. And boy was I proud. (Side note: this is not where I am now. It makes me sad.)

Anyway, the bottom line is– I can run. I’m just not good at it.

Recently, I haven’t really been focusing too much on my running, and have been concentrating more on strength, flexibility, and functional exercises.

But the past few weeks, I’ve been getting the itch to run another long race. For a while I couldn’t figure out why, but yesterday, in the middle of a set of 28kg kettlebell swings, it hit me.

While my workouts have certainly been kicking my butt, there’s been something lacking.

I just haven’t been feeling…accomplished.

I don’t want to work out just to work out. I need a goal. Something to work towards.

And since I accomplished my push up goal (3 sets of 12 full ones! Go me! Go me!), I think it might be time to embark on another running goal.

Perhaps a…marathon.

Or, maybe another half first. (Baby steps, here, people. Baby steps.)

But, I have also decided that if I’m going to do this, I’m going to this right. I don’t want to run a long race just to run it.

I want to run it, and feel good.

I want to feel accomplished.

So, step one is to work on how I run. After years of running in my Saucony’s, my gait, posture, and overall technique leaves much to be desired.

I basically look like I’m always running headlong into a gust of 30 mph wind.

Which is why I’ll be purchasing this book:

Without boring you too much with science, it teaches you to run from your core, not from your legs. Translation: Less injury. Stronger body.

If you want to read more, go to the Chi Running website. And if you want the book, you can get it on Amazon.

For a little more inspiration, I will also be getting Born to Run:

And along with the books, I’m making the jump to Vibram Five Fingers.

Yes. These things:

Don’t knock ’em til you try ’em. (Actually, I haven’t tried them yet. But, I know they are what I need.)

So, expect a few posts here and there as I slowly wade into the barefoot running craze. My research suggests it’s a very slow process, so a long race might be kind of far off.

But for the first time in a long time, I’m actually excited about the gym again.

And in the words of Martha Stewart, that is a very good thing.

6 Responses to “The Jump to Vibram Five Finger’s”

  1. Stewart Says:

    “Born to Run” is a great book. You’ll love it. I’ve been wearing the five fingers for about a month. Start slowly. They take some getting used to.

    • lindsayhutton Says:

      Yeah, I’ve heard great things about that book, and that slow is the way to go when first starting out. I’m excited to get started!

  2. Bridget Says:

    I have a pair and I LOVE them. They are also great for water sports and lifting. My balance is so much better with them. Plus, they are the lightest fitness shoes to travel with!

  3. Meghan Says:

    Born to Run is amazing! Makes you want to run naked in Mexico. As far as Vibram’s depending on where you do most of your running I might suggest something a step up. If you do most of your running outside on city pavement and sidewalks, vs. areas where there’s more grass or dirt, you might want to try another barefoot running inspired shoe that’s more durable. I bought the Nike Free, because I had vibrams and running with them in NYC was painful as all hell – probably in part to glass and general uneven-ness of sidewalks and roads – and the Frees gave me a little more support while still being MUCH lighter than traditional running sneakers.


  4. […] been talking about getting a pair since, ohhhhh, I dunno. Last August? You know, around the time I thought I wanted to move to Africa and become a fannypack-wearing […]


Leave a Reply

