And This is Why I’m Super Woman

August 10, 2011

One thing about getting my own place, aside from the sheer glory of living alone, is the fact that I have to buy everything to furnish it myself. I knew this going into it, obviously, and I’ve been pretty good about buying things little by little, but it’s still a really expensive endeavor to take on. As much as I would love to decorate my new place in Restoration Hardware and West Elm, well, that’s just not going to happen.

Enter IKEA.

IKEA is like the knight and shining armor to broke twenty-somethings like myself trying to create a cute space to live on a tight budget.

I’ve known for a while that this was the couch I was going to get:

Now, the original plan was to go buy it this weekend, during the tax free holiday.

Because, you know, that would have been the rational thing to do.

I would have saved some money. And, more importantly, I would have had some people to help me.

But, of course, this is not what I ended up doing. Because that would have been way too easy.

Given the fact that sometimes I am a completely irrational person, I decided that, actually, I needed to have my couch by the time I moved in on Thursday.

So, this is why I found myself frantically driving to IKEA at 8:00 Monday night, swerving in and out of traffic in a desperate attempt to go purchase my Karlstad sofa before they closed at 9pm.

I was so focused on getting the stupid thing, I never considered how I was actually going to get the sofa from where it was in the store to the checkout line.

See, IKEA is set up so you can view the furniture on the upper level, and when you find something you like, you go down to the warehouse and find it yourself.

You then load it onto a cart and bring it to the cash register.

By yourself.

When I originally decided on the urgency of having a couch by Thursday, I never took into consideration that going to IKEA to purchase it alone might not be the easiest thing in the world.

But there I was, flip-flops on my feet, sloppy bun atop my head, heaving and hoeing a 100+ pound, 8 foot tall hunk of cardboard onto a cart that didn’t have wheel locks.

It only took me about 4 tries (and several weird looks from people in the store, who I’d like to thank for not helping me), but I did it.

Boy, was I proud.

I got that puppy onto that cart without even messing up my pedicure.

After that ordeal, I managed to get it to the cash register without knocking anything over.

I may or may not have almost run over a baby stroller, but that’s not my fault. You try wheeling an 8 foot tall sofa around a giant warehouse.

Once paid for, I promptly wheeled it to home deliveries, scheduled it to be sent to me the next day, and went home exhausted, $600 in the hole, and one new couch richer.

It got delivered last night. And, to add even more to my superwoman status, I assembled it myself.

Ladies and gents, behold. A sneak peak at my new sofa:

Yes, I agree. The blue striped pillow doesn’t match. But I bought that before I learned the meaning of the term “impulse control”, so until I find somewhere else to put it, that’s where it’s going.

I know you’re all dying to see everything else, but the only other thing set up in my new place is this:

Obviously you can see where my priorities are.

But, the big, permanent move day is tomorrow. After that, I’ll have more pictures for you to oohhh and aaahhhh over.

Until then, wish me luck!

2 Responses to “And This is Why I’m Super Woman”

  1. Bill Says:

    “That rug really ties the room together.”. -The Dude šŸ˜‰


  2. […] (Remember the time I built my Ikea couch? I felt like Superwoman.) […]


Leave a Reply

