New Apartments and Fresh Starts

August 2, 2011

Yes, yes, I know the majority of you who read this know that yesterday was THE day.

I got the keys to my new apartment.

And I know a lot of you are expecting me to rave on and on about how awesome it is and how much I just love it, and ohmigod I can’t wait to officially be all moved in on August 11.

But, if I’m being honest, when I first walked in after not seeing it for almost four months…I hated it.

Well, maybe hate is a strong word.

But, I certainly didn’t like it.

See, sometimes I have a tendency to get an image in my head, and if that image doesn’t end up looking or being exactly the way I pictured it should be, I get discouraged.

In the four months since I rented my new place, my head had managed to turn it from a very typical studio apartment in Boston into a chic, airy, updated loft where I would have oodles of room to fill it with new furniture and adorable decorations.

Of course, as so often is the case, the mental picture I had conjured up in my head about what it looked like was a far cry from the actual picture I got yesterday.

I’ll admit, that’s my fault. I should have taken pictures the day I rented it, but in reality, I was so freaking excited about the fact that the bathroom wasn’t blue, all my inhibitions flew out the window and I eagerly signed the dotted line.

Then yesterday, reality came back and slapped me full-on in the face.

And it stung a little.

It’s smaller than I remember.

The set-up is different. I definitely can’t get the couch I’ve had my eye on.

Where my television is going to go is still up in the air. (At one point, I had a crazy thought that perhaps I could just suspend it from the ceiling? Oh, I can’t? Damn.)

And, while the bathroom is definitely white, it’s not as…modern as my brain wanted to think it was.

Oh yeah, and why is it that the stove won’t turn on? I know the gas works because I can hear it hissing out of the burners. So, you know, a little spark would be nice so I don’t incinerate my face the first time I cook a meal.

So, needless to say, I was feeling a little downtrodden when I happily burst into my new digs, got slammed in the face by a blast of 95 degree air, and didn’t see the apartment I thought I remembered.

(In my apartment’s defense, the first thing I actually saw was the cleaning lady’s ass as she bent over a heating vent to dust it off. I suppose that would discourage even the most optimistic individual.)

But, as it always happens, things started to look up.

Any empty apartment is going to look a little sad when you first get there. But, once I started getting my stuff in there, it started taking on the personality the apartment in my head had all along.

I’ve still got a lot of work to do so I don’t have any pictures yet. But, I think by the time I’m all unpacked and settled, it’s going to be the perfect place for me to live for the next year or so.

On a positive note, I did already bring over my wine rack. So if all else fails, I can always just pop open a bottle of Malbec.

2 Responses to “New Apartments and Fresh Starts”

  1. Brita Says:

    I’m sure it’s going to end up AWESOME. Apartments always look smaller without furniture, for some reason that I’m sure is explained by science. I can’t wait to come see it!

  2. Meghan Says:

    One word – Paint. Changes everything 🙂


Leave a Reply

