How to Fry an Egg in a Microwave

June 21, 2011

Why is it that most of my work stories revolve around the kitchen, and what I do there?

Back story: I decided to start Weight Watchers about two weeks ago. For me, it was less about losing weight and more about being a little more aware of what I’m actually putting in my mouth. I had gotten to the point where dessert was no longer a treat, and more of an everyday staple.

And if I have any intention of putting on a bathing suit this summer, I’d rather not get horrified glances from other beach-goers. So alas, Weight Watchers and point counting it is.

I get 29 points a day. I’m quickly learning how to divvy up those points in a way that won’t leave me starving/gnawing on my hand for sustenance by the time I go to bed.

And, that includes my new and improved 7 point Egg/American Cheese/English Muffin sandwich.

We all know my adoration for all things English muffins. Adding an egg and cheese just heightens my adoration by, ohhhh, 500%.

However, while the sandwich is delicious, it involves me cooking an egg in the microwave at work.

And this, apparently, is quite a spectacle for anyone who happens to be in the kitchen at the same time.

(That, or they’re just really bored at 9 am and have nothing better to do than grill me on how, exactly, to cook an egg in the microwave.)

This morning, there were no less than 5 people crowded around the microwave, watching my poor egg spin and fry under the rays of said microwave.

I’m telling you, you would have thought I was inventing a cure for AIDS. They actually “ooh-ed” and “aah-ed” when it came out.

They then watched me assemble my breakfast, hovering a little too close over my shoulder as I sprinkled on a little pepper.

When my mind-blowing creation was complete, I held a question and answer session by the fridge in order to answer any lingering questions, such as “How long does it take to fry an egg in the microwave??”

“Oh, I don’t know. 30 seconds? I just kind of guess and then add more time if I need to.”

“How many eggs can you cook at a time?”

“I only eat one. But I’d hazard to guess you can cook several, with the same results.”

“Tell me Lindsay, does it taste the same as it does at home?”

“Well, I don’t know how your microwave at home works, but to me, it tastes the same.”

“Can you show me how to do it?”

“Crack an egg in the a bowl, put it in the microwave, set it for 30 seconds, and hit ‘Start’.”

“Wow. That really is just so cool.”

(As they all trickle out of the kitchen, muttering about the egg and cheese sandwiches that will no doubt fill their mornings with glory now that they know how to fry an egg in the microwave.)

That, combined with toasting an English muffin, left me feeling kind of stressed out.

However, according to my last night’s weigh-in, I have lost 1.4 pounds. If my current weight loss keeps up, I’ll be at my target weight…by the end of swimsuit season.

Excellent.

11 Responses to “How to Fry an Egg in a Microwave”

  1. SandySays1 Says:

    Fry an egg in a microwave? Hmmmm, I guess that would be a slight bit more healthy when I make Eggs Bokeelia. (the recipe is in one of my older posts) my human hasn’t had good luck with microwaving eggs. The inside of the ‘wave looks like a classroom after a ist grade art lesson.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    • lindsayhutton Says:

      I haven’t had any exploding eggs happen to me yet, but I’m sure it will happen at some point. πŸ™‚

  2. DAD Says:

    So, two guys are talking and one asks the other “How’s your girlfriends diet going?”. To which the other replied “Great! She lost so much weight, she disappeared last week!!
    Thanks for coming down on Fathers Day. I, for one, had a great time and a great BBQ dinner!

    • lindsayhutton Says:

      Well, no chance of me disappearing– sorry, you can’t get rid of me that easily!

      Looks like Sturbridge might have to be our new meeting place!

  3. sar Says:

    I get to finally read your blog post! This is great Lindz, I usually take a coffee mug and put in egg beaters, for an egg beater and cheese mcmuffin! You will soon find your meal alternatives that are still so yummy! I am very impressed with your microwavable egg, way to go!
    Sar

    • lindsayhutton Says:

      YAYYYY!!!! Hi Sar!!!! My cousin was just asking if she could try it with egg beaters. I’ll have to let her know it works!


  4. haha! This is such a funny story! Great writing! πŸ™‚
    I’m Natalie. I came across your blog while searching for other Weight Watchers to connect with. I love english muffins too!

  5. lindsayhutton Says:

    English muffins are the reason I get up in the morning! Well, maybe not the only reason…but they play a pretty big role πŸ™‚ I’m looking forward to reading your posts!

  6. Bridget Says:

    LOL… this cracked me up. I actually saw someone microwaving an egg at work once and I was that person who was fascinated by the process. ECK!

    Great weigh-in news. I can’t wait for next Monday! I have to get back on track. I enjoyed a lot of rice and beans last week!

  7. Bridget Says:

    hehehe


Leave a Reply

