2011 Tornado

June 7, 2011

I’m pretty sure most of you who read this are from the same area as I am, so you’ve probably seen and heard all about the tornado that went through western MA.

My parents have a seasonal spot at a campground out there. Good ‘ol Quinabog Cove. Actually, my friends and I used to go camping there every summer.

Unfortunately, that campground just happened to be smack dab in the path of the twister.

Thankfully, they are ok. They weren’t there. Even if they were, their camper was somehow untouched. (Although, my mom said she still would have died. Of a heart attack. My father on the other hand, probably would have been outside in the midst of Mother Nature’s wrath because really, how often do you get to see something like that?)

But that’s more than I can say about the rest of the campground.

I’d say about 90% of it is completely destroyed. How nobody was killed is beyond me. Call it the grace of God.

I’ll let the pictures do the rest of the talking.

Honestly, my parents were lucky. Actually, compared to how Springfield looks, the campground is lucky. My roommate is from Springfield and it went right through her neighborhood. She said that whole area is devastated.

And to tell you the truth, these pictures don’t do it justice. Seeing the whole scope of it with your own eyes is the only way to understand what happened.

In all, it’s nuts. I’m glad everyone I know is ok.

In other news, I started Weight Watchers today. Ha. I’ll, uh, keep you posted on how that goes.

Until then.

One Response to “2011 Tornado”

  1. DAD Says:

    I joined Weight Watchers a while back. I like to keep my weight right out in front, over my belt, so I can watch it good!!


Leave a Reply

