My Striped Shirt

March 1, 2011

I went shopping last Saturday and let my friend Bridget talk me into buying a striped shirt.

A white and navy striped shirt.

According to some reputable sources, navy is quite the trendy color right now.

But for all of you who know me, my wardrobe consists mainly of black, gray, and maybe a little white mixed in if I’m feeling jaunty.

It’s a stretch for me to wear color.

Not that navy is much of a stretch– I was even assured I could wear it with black pants. Which I am.

Anyway, I’ve been on the fence about this shirt. Not because of the navy color, but because of the large amount of stripes currently occupying my upper body right now.

So I decided to wear the shirt to work today to see what kind of reaction it garnered from my co-workers.

Good reaction= Add striped shirt to work attire rotation.

Bad reaction= Add striped shirt to giant bag full of to-be-donated clothes.

Unfortunately, my little experiment has given me no insight into what others think of my Striped Shirt.

All the comments I’ve gotten have been 100% neutral. As in, they could either be looked at as complimentary…

…or very, very bad.

Here are a few of the comments I’ve received:

“Your shirt is so interesting!” (Ahhhh, interesting. World’s best word to use when you don’t know how to describe a good or bad article of clothing.)

“I’ve never seen you in stripes!” (This could either mean “You look awesome!” or “Take off the horizontals, tubs.”)

“What a different neckline!” (Was this exclaimed in admiration…or horror?)

“You look nice today!” (OK, this is a nice comment, but in my jaded state, I thought I sensed sarcasm.)

So anywho, the verdict is still out.

In the meantime, since I’m unable to take a full body shot of myself, and it would just be weird to ask someone to do it for me, here’s a picture of my sleeve:

And for all of you who are not the least bit interested in my forays into the fashion world, stay tuned– health post coming soon.

9 Responses to “My Striped Shirt”

  1. DAD Says:

    We need a referee for tonights game, are you available? HaHa

  2. Mom Says:

    Ohhhh Lindsay I think the sleeve looks nice

  3. Meghan Says:

    They look like thin stripes, so knowing you, I’m going to say you’re overreacting and it looks fine. Plus with your coloring navy is your friend – probably even more so than black, so I say let it stay.

    • lindsayhutton Says:

      The lady at the store said navy was my color too…but I didn’t know if she was just trying to get me to rack up my Limited card bill even more 🙂

  4. Keagan Says:

    I like it! Although its hard to say from just your arm 🙂 And these comments make me giggle. I could totally hear your mom and your dad both saying those things.

    • lindsayhutton Says:

      Keags– 1.) Don’t encourage my dad! 2.) I’m coming over to steal Evan the next time I am home. No joke. I want him.


Leave a Reply

