Why I Shouldn’t Go Out On Sunday Nights

February 22, 2011

I know a lot of people had yesterday off in lieu of President’s Day, but I didn’t.

And I don’t usually make it a habit of going out on Sundays, but there was a band called Sea Monsters we wanted to check out.

They were definitely worth it– one of the guys in the band plays the trumpet.

I like trumpets.

And the 3 Blue Moons I had left me feeling happily fuzzy and none too concerned that I had to work the next day.

Fast forward to the next morning:

Despite only getting about 4 hours of sleep, I was actually feeling pretty good.

I got up at my normal time.

I got the coffee going that I had remembered to get ready the night before.

I managed to put on a normal looking outfit. (Bonus? Nobody knew it was the same one I had on the night before, and besides, it was easier picking it up off my floor than having to rummage through my closet.)

I even packed a lunch!

Needless to say, I was feeling pretty smug when I got into work, convinced I that I can still manage to go out on a work night and actually act like a functioning human being the next day.

Alas, my smugness was short lived. Here’s what my sleep-deprived brain had packed for shoes:

Going out on Sunday was fun. Having to wear my rain boots all day at work? Not so much.

Work night party fail.

7 Responses to “Why I Shouldn’t Go Out On Sunday Nights”

  1. JoAnna Says:

    AH-mazing. Virtual high five coming your way. This just made my day.

  2. Pugs Says:

    That’s amazing. Sea Monsters were a good time. “Don’t touch me”

  3. DAD Says:

    President’s Day?? Here I thought it was because it was my birthday! Had fun Sunday. Tks for coming down.

  4. DAD Says:

    Also, I bet you have another pair of shoes at home just like those, so don’t feel bad.

  5. Keagan Says:

    Yeah for Uncle Ricky jokes! And no worries….I wore two different pairs of shoes to my first day of teaching at Branford. And I didn’t have rain boots to wear all day. You can be sure ALL my students noticed and never let me live it down 🙂 At least you had an excuse….

  6. Mike L. Says:

    Ha ha, awesome!!

  7. Jill Says:

    Ha ha….wait until you are pregnant, I’ve worn 2 different shoes out in public…one with a heel, one without and didn’t even notice until the 3rd place we went! Healthy minds and prego-ness does not go together!


Leave a Reply

