What do you like to read about here?

November 5, 2010

Since it’s statistically proven that most people don’t read all the way to the end of any article, first things first:

Cast a vote in my poll!

And then read on to find out what it’s all about.

Finished? Great.

So, I’ve been keeping an eye on the traffic my blog posts get. And by keeping an eye on it, what I really mean is every time I post a new entry, I obsessively refresh my browser to see if the number of people who have read the new post keeps going up.

Usually it does. Sometimes it doesn’t.

A good day for me is, oh, say 50 people (sad.)

A bad day is…zero. Yes…zero. (Even sadder.)

Do you have any idea how soul-crushing it is to check your stats and have it say “We’re sorry. Nobody has read your blog today. Zero. Nobody.”? It’s like a dagger to the heart.

I’m still waiting to go viral. But that’s another post for another time.

Anyway, when I first started this blog, most of my posts were geared toward health and fitness topics, either something I saw in the news or just a mere observation on my part.

However, recently, my posts have been trending more towards humorous things that happen to me on any given day – i.e. awkward work encounters and painful physical maladies.

And I’ve seen the traffic on this blog skyrocket. (And by skyrocket, I mean there’s, like, 10 of you reading, instead of the regular five…2 of which include my parents.)

I’ve come up with a few reason why this is:

1.) You like reading about my poor, sad existence and everyday life because it makes you feel better about yourself.

2.) You like reading about my interesting and amazing life because you like me and think I’m funny.

3.) You’re all heartless people who like to see me get hurt and feel awkward at work, and in your spare time, you probably like to punch kittens for fun.

So, in an effort to understand how your minds work…

I’ve created a little poll.

What would you rather read about here? Would you rather read my insightful takes on the health and fitness industry? Or would you rather read about my awkward work life, with all it’s long hallways and severely introverted co-workers?

Please vote. Don’t worry, it won’t tell me who you are, so I can’t come and punch you in the eye if you choose the “I hate your blog” option. If you choose that one, all I can really do is sit here and feel bad for myself. And maybe drown my sorrows with a bottle of Jack.

So please vote! Right here!

I’ll keep you guys posted on the outcome. The results really will have an impact on what I write about, so vote now or forever hold your peace.

2 Responses to “What do you like to read about here?”

  1. DAD Says:

    I was trying to vote for more than one thing, but it wouldn’t let me. Besides if I wrote one in, you’d know it was me and might punch me in the nose Sunday. C & G are coming to watch the game also. Looking forward to it. Maybe Joe and I can watch a rerun of AMC!!

    • lindsayhutton Says:

      I edited the poll so you can vote for more than one thing.

      I won’t punch you in the nose, but I might stomp on your foot. :-0


Leave a Reply

