Compliment of the Day

April 26, 2010

Sometimes I get so caught up in the humdrum routine of working a 9-5 that I forget about why I even went back to school for journalism.

But then I realize it isn’t that I don’t enjoy writing. I’ve come to realize I don’t particularly enjoy working.

Case in point: I was just complaining to my mom the other day on the phone about how I’d be completely happy not having to work.

And she reminded me that I’ve never been one to stay content in any one job for very long.

It’s true. I get bored very easily. Too easily, actually.

That’s not to say I want to be a complete slob that lays around and does nothing all day. But it sure would be nice to not have a schedule that required me to be in a cube for 40 hours a week, and to be able to go to bed on Sunday night not dreading the inevitable 6:15 blare of my stupid alarm clock.

But alas, ’tis my life. And until I get motivated to write my book that will no doubt become a national bestseller, allowing me to live off the royalties for the rest of my life, it doesn’t look like that’s about to change any time soon.

So, in the meantime, I look at the little things that remind me that I really do like my job. Like today, when I got an email from my boss’s boss complimenting me on my “wonderful appreciation for the craft of writing and discovery of voice.”

Who…me?

I’ve never really looked at my writing as a “voice” waiting to be discovered. Quite the opposite, actually. Usually the only voice in my head is the one adamantly resisting waking up every morning to go to work, followed immediately by the one thinking about climbing right back into bed at night. (Fun fact of the day: Going to bed is my favorite time of the day during the week. No lie.)

And there’s a third voice mixed in that counts down the days until the weekend. Oh, and the fourth one that really hates all the gross people who ride the T every day with me.

Wow. OK, I ‘m not that cynical in person. I swear.

But as you can see, not one of my “voices” are directly related to my “craft” of writing.

I suppose I could start having a better attitude about the complete boring-ness of having a 9-5 job. But, that likely won’t happen.

So in the meantime, I’ll use that little email pick-me-up to get me through my Monday, and dream about the day that I am longer part of the rat race.

One Response to “Compliment of the Day”

  1. DAD Says:

    Be a farmer (you will when you plant your garden) and there is never a dull moment. Mother Nature is always changing her mind and, boy , is she PISSED about something!!! Congrats about the good words. DAD


Leave a Reply

