Fake Fries

April 9, 2010

As you all know, I love ketchup.

I mean, seriously. Anyone who gets this jazzed about a condiment must have some serious issues.

But there’s a problem. Ketchup is usually the perfect companion to a heaping, delicious pile of deep fried, oil-laden french fries.

And sadly, with my new GSP, fries aren’t exactly on the menu.

Well, my friends, you can now start calling me Chef Lindsay. I actually made quite a yummy side of potatoes last night to satisfy my insatiable craving for ketchup.

They were super simple and super yummy.

Step 1: Line tray with foil and drizzle with Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO).
Step 2: Dice red potato into bite-sized pieces.
Step 3: Toss potato in about 1 tbsp EVOO.
Step 4: Sprinkle with garlic powder, maybe some pepper, perhaps some Mrs. Dash, a dash or two of onion powder. (In other words, whatever spices you have on hand and are tasty. I did add a little bit of salt as well.)
Step 5: Broil at 350 (I did 370, only because I was baking chicken too and freak out about raw meat) for 35-40 minutes or until you can stab them with a fork.
Step 6: Squeeze glob of ketchup on plate.
Step 7: Enjoy the yumminess.

I think this whole experimenting in the kitchen thing is kind of fun. Next on the list: Bean Soup. In a crock pot.

Whoa.

Leave a Reply

