Teen Cutting is an Issue

February 2, 2010

I’m lucky enough to be one of those people who can honestly say I love my job.

And I’m not just saying that to score brownie points with any of my co-workers who happen to stumble upon this humble little blog. I really, truly, enjoy what I do.

Now, for those of you who aren’t quite sure what exactly it is that I do (and I suspect that’s almost everyone), let me enlighten you.

I’m an assistant editor for a parenting website.

In other words, I give my expert (?!) parenting (??!!) advice to all our readers who look to us for entertainment ideas, current events, tough topics, and any other roadblocks parents might run into during the (hopefully only) 18 years they spend raising their child.

And although some of you like to think I spend my days doing arts and crafts, researching and reading children’s books, and basically screwing around (I won’t name names), there are some parts of my job that cover serious topics.

So, I’m required to stay up-to-date on current issues and trends.

In other words, I read the news.

…what? You mean to tell me you don’t all spend the first 2 hours at work reading the news? Like I believe that.

Anyway, I came across an article today that brings light to an often overlooked teenage issue —cutting and self-injury.

Did you know an individual who cuts or self-injures themselves is 75 times more likely to commit suicide?

Couple that with typical teenage angst and internal torture, and you’ve got yourself a recipe for disaster.

And, although experts have seen a rise in cutting and self-injury in recent years, funding for this mental health condition often falls by the wayside to make room for more trendy issues like autism.

Yeah, I said it. Trendy.

Now before anyone starts sending me hate mail, let me point out that I’ve written many articles on the importance of autism research and potential causes and treatments.

I just think that it’s been so overexposed in the media, other important issues are overshadowed.

So, throw me a bone and read the article.

It’s a light read. Really.

But, just remember, teens are weird creatures.

So don’t start suspecting every teen you see wearing long sleeves in the summer is a cutter. They just might be trying to “express themselves.”

On a side note, this week is going by really slow. Maybe it’s because I’m going to Jamaica on Sunday.

Hey, everyone needs a mental health day. Or week.

🙂

4 Responses to “Teen Cutting is an Issue”

  1. Dad Says:

    Do I get $20.00 for being the first this time? Seriously, keep up the good work. Hopefully it will reach out to the right group of people! Have fun in Jamaica, mon! Don’t forget your sun screen. Let’s go go-carting for my birthday. OK?

  2. lindsayhutton Says:

    Go-carting? Sure! Is there a place open in the winter?

  3. Elinor Says:

    Thanks for bringing this article to peoples attention. I wouldn’t say it was a light read but it is certainly an issue which often gets overlooked. Perhaps it is because people don’t generally like to talk about unpleasant subjects especially one where there is so little understanding of the causes behind self harming. Mental health problems which result in sufferers having difficulties coping with life which lead in turn to self harm are just as real as autism and they need to be discussed more openly so sufferers don’t feel so ostracised and isolated. Only by talking openly about their problems rather than internalising their grievances will they be able to recover and stop taking out their frustrations upon their person.


Leave a Reply

