Running Shoes as Bad as Heels?

January 15, 2010

How much did you spend on your last pair of running shoes?

Me? $150.

Absurd. I know.

Especially considering the fact that they consistently give me blisters on the bottoms of my feet, and strain my knee so bad to the point that sometimes I can hardly walk after running anything over 4 miles.

But, I continue to wear them.

Why?

Because they’re Saucony’s! They’re the best shoe out there! They’re expensive, and therefore, great!

Besides, look how cool I look in them:

See?

Right.

Well, new studies are showing that high-tech running shoes can be as bad as wearing high heels, and in fact, bare feet are the best if you plan on running.

Well, yeah. People aren’t born with sneakers on their feet. Obviously the Evolution Gods knew what they were doing when they made us humans into 2-legged creatures with 5 toes.

Unfortunately, the roads and running trails of today aren’t exactly barefoot-friendly.

Unless, of course, you’re willing to risk stepping on a disease-ridden needle or shard of glass. Which, if you’re a risk taker, by all means go right ahead.

But for your safety-conscious, right-minded folks out there, let me offer you a few alternatives. Check out Vibram FiveFinger Shoes:

They're like gloves for your feet!

They may look ridiculous, but if you have any prayer of straightening out your gait and avoiding joint strain in the future, you may want to check them out.

Nike Frees are another lightweight shoe out there that simulates barefoot running without the hazards of actually being barefoot.

I’ll be investing in a pair as soon as my Saucony’s get too worn out for running.

What?? I paid $150 for them!

I might as well get some use out of them, blisters and all.

No pain, no gain, right?

3 Responses to “Running Shoes as Bad as Heels?”

  1. Dad Says:

    My last pair of sneakers I got, I got for Christmas 2008. My NewBalance make me run faster and jump tall buildings in a single bound. Wonder why I did’t get a new pair this past Christmas! Love ya

  2. lindsayhutton Says:

    You didn’t get a new pair this Christmas because your New Balances don’t have a GPS tracking device to help you map out your “running routes”.

  3. Dad Says:

    When you run around in circles all the time, you don’t need a GPS, besides Mom took it to Fla!


Leave a Reply

