Toy Hall of Fame

December 17, 2009

I don’t have a lot of time to write a post today. We have our company Christmas party at 12:30, and I need to get my game face on.

Or should I say, my bowling face.

Yes, we’re going bowling.

But anyway, I wanted to share this fun little tidbit. Did you know there is a toy hall of fame?

No really. There is. Check it out.

Of all 44 toys that have made it in there, my favorite on there is the stick. It’s genius.

Most kids use them for swords or to build forts.

I used them to whack my little brother in face.

Actually, this reminds me of a winter in the late 1980s. I was probably around 4 or 5, which means Pat couldn’t have been more than 2.

It had just snowed out, so of course us kids wanted to go sledding. And lucky for us, we had a pretty decent hill right on the side of our house.

We bundled up and had finally made it outside, but then my mom had to run back inside to get something (probably a camera), and gave us strict instructions not to sled down the hill until she came back.

My sister, Carrie, was always good about doing what she was told. She sat down and waited patiently for my mom to come back.

But what did I do?

I loaded my brother up onto the sled, gave him a hearty push, and sent him flying.

Right smack into a tree.

A few tears and one concussion later, my mom no longer left me outside with my brother in the winter time.

Does that count as using a stick as a toy?

I know. I was a bully.

Sorry Pat.

4 Responses to “Toy Hall of Fame”

  1. Keagan Says:

    Ahahaha! Good story….too bad he’s a bit bigger than you now.

  2. lindsayhutton Says:

    I know…now he could probably uproot that tree and smack ME in the face with it. 😦

  3. Brita Says:

    True story… my brother used to run himself into walls at full speed and throw himself down stairs and then tell my mother I had done it.
    Families are fun.

  4. Dad Says:

    wasn’t that just a couple of years ago? seems it. Oh, by the way, Martha and Greg had a baby boy last night. 7lbs 3oz, Jack Matthew


Leave a Reply

