Gingervitis

November 24, 2009

Fun fact of the day: I’m an endangered species.

No really. I am. Read this article.

That’s right folks. Redheads are going extinct.

How in the world are you all going to carry on without us?

Of course, this begs the question: how many of you know a redhead, better known as a ginger?

I know a few. Aside from the completely obvious fact that I’ve got glowing strands of red atop my head, there are several gingers roaming around my circle of friends, including one of my best and oldest friends.

(Hi Bridge!)

And besides the unfortunate creature known as Carrot Top, I think redheads are pretty damn cool.

So, when I read this article about a poor little redheaded boy getting beat up by his classmates, it really upset me.

I mean, seriously!

Don’t they know Kick a Ginger Day is in March??

Oh, relax. I’m kidding.

I know it’s in July.

OK, but really guys. Listen, I’m all for poking fun at different…ummm…types of people. There’s nothing wrong with having a little laugh at someone else’s expense. And by no means have I ever been sensitive about my red hair. Carrot Top, Red, Pumpkin Head…I’ve heard them all.

But when the fun and games turn to violence, that’s when you know its gone too far.

Have you ever heard of Kick a Jew Day?

Or Kick an Asian Day?

What? Do you find that offensive?

Then how is Kick a Ginger Day any different?

That’s what I thought.

So lay off, you big brutes! If you’d like a have a little non-violent fun at our expense, please visit the Ginger Kids website. But stop kicking us, damn it!

And PS- If you’d like to send a condolence gift to my poor endangered self, feel free to mail one directly to my home address.

Monetary donations can be directly deposited into my PayPal account.

Thank you for giving me free gifts…uh, I mean…supporting this great cause.

2 Responses to “Gingervitis”

  1. Bridget Says:

    Wow… Thank you for covering this much overlooked problem in today’s society. Poor ginger children.

  2. Lindsay Says:

    I know, it is a much overlooked problem. I feel bad for us. 😦


Leave a Reply

