Teen Drinking and St. Maarten Bound

November 6, 2009

Those topics go together like….well actually, they don’t go together at all.

Sorry if I seem all over the place today. I’ve officially switched into vacation mode. But before we talk about that, let’s get serious.

It’s just for a second, I swear!

How old were you when you had your first drink?

13? 15? 18?

Am I close? Or am I being too conservative?

Me? I was 25.

……what? I was!

Alright, I only put that because I know my dad reads my posts, (Hi Dad!), so I have to pretend I’m somewhat responsible.

I’m not sure what the average age is, but I think it’s safe to assume most kids have tried an alcoholic drink by the time they’re 16 or 17. I’m not saying all 16 and 17 year olds are going out and getting smashed every weekend (although I know some are), but it would be pretty naive to think they’re not experimenting.

Anyway, back in October, Nickelodeon aired a special episode titled “Kids in Rehab” for their series Nick News with Linda Ellerbee.

Of the 2 million people who checked into rehab in 2007, almost 25,000 of them were under the age of 15.

15 years old.

And we’re not talking they had tried a drink by the age of 15, or even gone out and gotten drunk a couple times by the age of 15. These kids that checked into rehab were alcoholics.

High-freaking-five Nickelodeon for bringing attention to this.

I already thought you rocked because you constantly play marathons of Spongebob Squarepants, but highlighting such a scary and important issue makes you rock even more.

OK, now onto the second part of this post…

This time tomorrow, I’ll be on a plane, headed HERE:

StMaarten

Ahhhhhhhh

And this is what I’ll look like flying in:

Did you see me waving??

Needless to say, I’m pumped.

I won’t be anywhere near a computer for the next week, so this will be the last post for a bit.

Have a great weekend/week. I’ll be thinking of you all while I’m on the beach.

Wait, who am I kidding. No I won’t. 🙂

Leave a Reply

