Don’t Swig from that Sigg™

October 1, 2009

Sorry all you Sigg™ water bottle lovers. Although your trusty thirst-quencher may be land-fill friendly, it may not be all that great for your health.

Bummer. I always thought their bottles had such cute designs. I mean, look:

Aren't they cute?

Aren't they cute?

Turns out the liner has none other than good ‘ol Bisphenol A in it.
Who would have thought such a complicated-sounding word like Bisphenol A would become such a household name? Actually, most people (not so) lovingly call it by it’s nickname: BPA.

Ah, yes. BPA. That friendly little organic compound that has been suspected of being hazardous to humans since the 1930s, but has only been making headlines for the last couple years or so. How comforting.

I suggest you Sigg™ carriers check out this letter issued by Sigg CEO Steve Wasik. You’ve got until October 31, 2009 to take advantage of the voluntary Exchange Program. After that, whatever you choose to do with your BPA-laden water bottle is your business.

I don’t judge.

One Response to “Don’t Swig from that Sigg™”

  1. Bridget Says:

    I wasn’t aware of this. I checked out the website. Looks like retailers will also be giving a trade in option. I LOVE my limited edition SIGG but I’m going to have to trade it in. 😦 tear


Leave a Reply

