A word from me…

August 25, 2009

This has been a long time coming. As a former college athlete and aspiring writer, I long ago decided to start a blog geared towards educating normal people, leading normal lives,on becoming (and staying) healthy. And by normal lives, I mean the average teen, 20-something, 30-something, whatever-year-old who deals with the everyday demands of school, work, a career, and bad days. I mean the sort of bad days that have you reaching for that pint of ice cream in an attempt to drown your sorrows in double-chocolate fudge delight.

By healthy, I mean accepting and being happy with who you are and the way your body is. The goal is to reach out to those working towards achieving their own personal level of fitness and wellness, not the cookie-cutter image that Hollywood has decided is acceptable for young women and men to aspire to be.

I’m not an expert, but I do know what I’m talking about. As someone who has struggled with emotional eating, weight issues (not extreme, but enough to make me self-conscious), and the disgusting, self-esteem-destroying demands the media and general public put on people to “look good” and “be thin”, I think it’s high time for an outlet out there for the average person who just wants to do what they can to be healthy, and to feel good doing it. So toss out that issue of Cosmo that gives you “10 Steps to Becoming a Size Zero!” and start leading your life according to your standards. My goal here isn’t to fill these pages with useless information, but instead quality facts that give you something to take away and apply to your everyday well-being. Because a healthy state of mind is the first step to leading a happy life.

“My health is the main capital I have and I want to administer it intelligently.” ~Hemingway

Leave a Reply

